DICE PACKS BUNDLE

Is the Forge STA Ruleset Still Being Updated?

Is the freebie version of STA that was once upon a time available on Forge, still being updated? Or did that perhaps stop on Mar 18th, which is the date of the dat file in my \vault folder.

I plan to eventually buy the FG-STA ruleset, but not until I'm sure I actually have an audience of players to run some adventures for. I'm new to STA, but haven't even given the core rules a thorough read, let alone the quadrant PDF I also bought. To complicate things, the only group of players I could get to play online are die hard Voyager fans, but the Delta Quadrant isn't available as FGU DLC. In the meantime, I'm content to input some of my own content to get more familiar with the ruleset, but don't want to do that if I'm going to eventually hit a wall with scripts or XMLs that are incompatible with Core RPG updates. Hence my initial question.
    Last edited by kronovan; October 8th, 2023 at 06:23.

I have not used the Forge STA ruleset since the offical ruleset has been released but I'm not aware of any updates.

The Quadrant books are nice but I'd say it's not essential to have them on FG - while there are a few player options in them, creating them manually takes way less work than in other, crunchier systems and you will likely only need a few anyway.

I will also say that the layout of the Core Rulebook is not ideal to learn the rules.

Edit: Note that the STA Character Creation website can also export to FG xml files (though I have not tested it out recently).
    Last edited by stephan_; October 8th, 2023 at 08:50.

The forge states that it was last updated 221 days ago, around March 1, so you likely have the latest version.

I doubt it is being worked on as the official ruleset was released, and they couldn’t put out the sourcebooks anyway due to copyright issues.

Quote Originally Posted by stephan_ View Post