DICE PACKS BUNDLE

“New” RPG system advice

Given the shenanigans going on at WOTC/Hasbro, I am thinking of moving to a new RPG system. Leaning toward PathFinder 2E.

Background:

I’ve been playing D&D off and on since 1979 (Yes, I am THAT old…). I’ve played AD&D 1 and 2, D&D 3.5, and D&D 5e. I came back to the fold in 2018 via Adventurers League. Found Fantasy Grounds shortly there after and went full virtual at the start of the Pandemic in 2020.

Pathfinder seams to be the most mature system besides D&D. I have no problem spending the money to buy the FG assets.

Thoughts on Pathfinder from the community?

On a side note. I am trying to understand the linkage of FG assets to a Piazo account. I think I’d like the Hardcopy books, or at least the PDF’s in addition to the FG assets. Is it better to purchase via FG, or via the Piazo site?

Thanks!

You could do worse than look at the various Cypher System titles by Monte Cook Games. Unfortunately, they're not at all in the VTT market so no ready-made books or modules in the FG store but the rulesets included with FG are pretty functional once you get the quirks. I just love the system and Numenera has a good number of modules and supplements. The down side is that you'll be manually entering the stuff you need. Cypher is definitely not as rules-light as something like Dungeon World and not nearly as crunchy as 5E/PF2. It's a nice middle ground that's very story-oriented where even a long combat should really only last 6-8 rounds.
    --
    I'm so bassic

IF you create and link a Paizo account you here are two options. a) If you buy a FGU Paizo module, you will get a PDF in your Paizo account b) If you have you already have the PDF in your Paizo account you will recieve the price of the PDF as a discount on the FG module.

Note, this can get really interesting because if you bought a Humble Bundle where you were getting Paizo pdf's for close to pennies. You would then get a big discount for essentially pennies.