STAR TREK 2d20 02
  1. #1

    Tiamat and spell immunity, DnD 5e

    The stat sheet for Tiamat says she can ignore spells of 6th level or lower. If I were to cast a lower-level spell, say Magic Missile, but use a 7th level spell slot to cast it, would it count as a 7th level spell, and damage her? Or would it count as a 1st level spell and fail to damage her?

  2. #2
    Zacchaeus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    19,337
    It counts as the spell slot level used I believe. So it would be 7th level.
    If there is something that you would like to see in Fantasy Grounds that isn't currently part of the software or if there is something you think would improve a ruleset then add your idea here http://fgapp.idea.informer.com/

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    7,101
    From the 5E SRD:
    Casting a Spell at a Higher Level
    When a spellcaster casts a spell using a slot that is of a higher level than the spell, the spell assumes the higher level for that casting. For instance, if Umara casts magic missile using one of her 2nd-level slots, that magic missile is 2nd level. Effectively, the spell expands to fill the slot it is put into.
    This can matter for counterspell and dispel magic as well.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Location
    Itinerant, as needed
    Posts
    24
    But not for "Globe of Invulnerability", because who needs logic and consistency in a ruleset? *shrug*

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
SWADE Playlist

Log in

Log in