5E Product Walkthrough Playlist

Story Templates not calling table with word containing ū

Hi All,

I'm still learning how to use Story Templates and exercising as much functionality as I can. Apologies for asking so many questions over the past day or two. I searched on the forums and didn't find anything related to this one.

After discovering hyphens are a bad idea in table names I may have encountered another odd one. Today I was testing and tried to create a story entry using the Static Entry table call below. FG output the names of the tables without the square brackets. I had it working in a different story template, but there I pulled the word Faerūn from a table and used it in the [] rather than typing it out. The Name using Variable output seems to work as the documentation describes. Since I managed to create the workaround before realizing it was in fact a workaround, I can alter my workflow to accommodate that in the future.

Did I encounter a known issue with this or is it the first time anyone has described it?

[:?World:Continent]
    Continent = <Continent>
    Name using Variable: [<Continent>, Dwarf, Male] [<Continent>, Dwarf, Surname]
    Static Entry: [Faerūn, Dwarf, Male] [Faerūn, Dwarf, Surname]
    Static Entry Without Faerūn: [Damaran, Male] [Damaran, Surname]

OUTPUT:
    Continent = Faerūn
    Name using Variable: Kildrak Skulldark
    Static Entry: Faerūn, Dwarf, Male Faerūn, Dwarf, Surname
    Static Entry Without Faerūn: Sergor Chernin

The story templates enhancements were done by a community member and I’m not familiar with the code; so I will pass along to them to look at.

Regards,
    JPG

Nope- that’s a new one!

I don’t know why a character like that would stop the output, there shouldn’t be anything more restrictive in the added functionality that the original, vanilla functionality already possessed in terms of alpha character allowances.