DICE PACKS BUNDLE

Thread: Which Extension

Which Extension

Greetings,

I've now played several games with FGU and really enjoying it. Just tried my first time hosting a game and it also went very well. Now I am looking at more hosting than playing and have discovered all the wonderful Effect Modules and Extensions. I am not a programmer so these products appeal to me. I am struggling with how to determine what is compatible with each other and which are repeats of other products. For example:

I am looking at RobTwohy's DM Effects, one click druid and DM tools. I really like the way the spells can have tokens drop down onto the VT and then target everyone, etc. I also like how the module/extension removes token stacking. Very appealing but this seems to be an older product.

I am also looking at Grim Press' Automatic Effects. This product is a more recent release and I like how every item/effect is organized. But I do not see if it can plunk down spell effects with tokens, address token stacking, etc...

I believe that the effects are a repeat of each other so I can't see a reason to need them both.
    I am wondering what people's thoughts are on these two products and what they would recommend for a new DM starting up.

(going to run DnD 5E).

Peace.
    - Faith, Steel and Gunpowder.

Blog Entries
    Both Rob https://discord.gg/FVgtecr and Grimm https://discord.gg/N7MM93a have their own Discord channels where they and their developers can answer specific questions.

My advice for a new DM, do not use any extensions. Run at least half a dozen live sessions just using FG as it comes. There is a lot of capability and things to learn, and until you are smooth with gameplay, adding more complexity is not something I would advise.

After you have running your game down smooth, and you don't have struggles or delays doing the things you want/need, then you can start asking yourself where you are struggling and what might help your games go smoother.