STAR TREK 2d20

DMing Fantasy Grounds games and videocalls

Hello everyone.

I've been DMing through fantasy grounds since 2016 and also Adventurers League in the last year, mostly D&D 5e.

We are using both with IRL friends and in AL discord app.

I wonder why nobody came about the matter of using the camera or not. I understand that may people maybe want to stay in their pijamas relaxed, but I start to think that while playing online through FG would be nice to see each other.

Someone has feedback to give? Does videocall instead of audiocall affect bandwidth too much?

Would be nice to have your opinions.

At least for IRL friends only I would like to try to use our cams during sessions.

But till now my players were against it (and I am talking about IRL friends that I already know and have seen many times).

Waiting for your comments, thanks

P.s. would be nice to have videocalls built in FG, yes I know I am dreaming
    Neuronblaster GM on warhorn.net

We usually play with "camera on" but I understand many people are not that comfortable with it. That's because you don't only see that one person but also his surrounding at home which he might not want to show ("did it remove all the worn socks from view?").
    I don't think having video calls implemented in FG would be a good move. There are a ton of big players with dedicated free solutions out there (Discord, Zoom, Teams, Skype...) which FG will never be able to compete with.

I prefer camera on, because I find it easier to make sure we don't talk over people. I've had players had audio problems and just assume we were all talking over them or ignoring them - if they have their camera on it is much more obvious that they are trying to talk.