DICE PACKS BUNDLE
Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Thread: XML reference

XML reference

Hi folks,
    I may be diving into the deep end here, but I tend to do that.
    I've written an excel based character generator for PF1e. It helps me remember all the little tweaks I tend to forget, and it's way cheaper than HeroLab (i.e. free). I realized that because of the way I wrote it, I ought to be able to export XML readable in Fantasy Grounds. At least, that's what I think. I'm a bush league, self-taught computer hack (not hacker!) that can sometimes pull off some crazy stuff. But this isn't working for me and I was hoping someone could point me to a primer for how to format NPCs so they can be used with FG's import tool.

My workflow:
    I created a basic campaign with one of the PF bestiaries as the only loaded module.
    I created my own NPC, copying the stat block letter-for-letter to match the paid-module block.
    I exported the module, using the Library->Export, and selected only NPCs.
    I renamed the resulting .mod file into a .zip.
    I opened the db.xml file within the .zip.
    I reverse-engineered what parts of the .xml had been populated from the FG NPC.
    I programmed my character generator to produce a .xml identical to that one, as well as one that had a new NPC I wanted to add.
    I renamed each of those files (in independent tests) to db.xml
    I zipped each of those files (in independent tests) into .zip files, and added a copy of the definition.xml that I had found in my original export.
    I renamed each of those .zip files (in independent tests) into .mod files.
    I put copies of those .mod files in the modules directory.

When I try to find the modules in the Library->Modules, they are not there.