DICE PACKS BUNDLE
Page 1 of 6 123 ... Last

Third Party Development Community

So bear with me here...I'm new to peering under the guts of Fantasy Grounds. Been using it happily for quite some time but only recently did I open up my data folder and type unzip. As a developer by trade, I figured why not.
    Some observations:
    - Learning the ropes can be rough. There's some documentation for the FG API's, but I was unable to find anything at all for CoreRPG. I had to just start pouring over the code for that. I managed to find one channel #mod_creation in the official Fantasy Grounds discord server where people have been super helpful. And I've bothered Kelrugem WAAAY too much with PM's to obtain what little knowledge I have thus far.

- Knowledge silos galore! While people have been awesome, I've left myself wondering many times whether or not I'm doing things in a "Best Practices" approach in regard to FG extensions with the code I'm writing. People can be helpful, but people aren't really reviewing my code to give me suggestions aside from quick one-offs here and there on the discord channel mentioned above. It seems most people have their own extensions, many of those extensions (from what I've seen) are written differently and don't necessarily follow any kind of accepted convention. It's the Wild West out there!

- Attached files of the Gods only know which version of what extension (links to posts in the middle of a 30 page thread to get to the currently active, latest extension file)

- Single ownership of extensions. This means whenever there's a breaking change to either Fantasy Grounds API's or the ruleset the extension is based off of, folks are at the mercy of whoever wrote the extension to get it updated.