DICE PACKS BUNDLE

Passing "static text" in a roll string?

Hey folks, I am new to messing about (changing) die strings.

I created one copied from THAC0 (well, underway, not done) but I'd like the roller to do some lookups and decisions based on stats, class, race and whether it is a melee or ranged attack. The first 3 are easy enough - the last I am not sure what to do.

Is there a way of passing this info as a bool (isMelee) or string "melee"/"ranged" or some other way as a parameter?
    /mythac0 1d20+(b)x(a) is the base without the ranged/melee stuff.

Suggestions? I could, of course, create 2 different rollers but other than the mod decision tree there is no difference between them. I could encode the ranged/melee into the name of the roll like NAME (ranged) and search for that, but I dislike having people forced to name it a certain way.

Thanks off to bed >4am

Blog Entries
    You could extend that roll to something like:

/mythac0 1d20+(b)x(a)m|r

and use:

local sDice, sThac0, sType = sDicePattern:match("([^%s]+)x(%d+)(%a*)");

or similar...

OOOOH... I get it.

I was thinking I had to do something with p1-3 or r1-3 etc. But I wasn't thinking straight - I can do as you said and add it to the end of the string manually. Will try that, thank you.

Hey Damned, is there any full description of how to use this in a document or video? I tried the help web page which documents the rolls and how to add one to the xml files but not really this method:

function add_roll_type(name, perform_action, result_handler, use_modifiers, targeting, mod_handler, action_icon, total_handler)

name = roll_name
    perform_action = the "performAction()" method that does the work/creates rolls.
    result_handler = the "onLanded()" type action result handler you can define.
    use_modifiers = whether to use/consume the current "modifier stack" value.
    targeting = >> I passed "all", not sure what other choices exist.

The one I am interested in: