DICE PACKS BUNDLE
Page 100 of 109 First ... 50909899100101102 ... Last
  1. #991
    damned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    26,733
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by greybeardgunner70 View Post
    Changes I make to "Project Properties" aren't being reflected in FGU. For example, I have tried to add copyright info to Description and Comments, and neither show up in the chat. Nor do changes to the version number. What am I missing? Do I need to generate a new ruleset file, rather than updating the current one?
    Announcement text is only updated when you close FG and launch it fresh again.

  2. #992

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    266
    Quote Originally Posted by damned View Post
    Announcement text is only updated when you close FG and launch it fresh again.
    Got it, thanks!

  3. #993
    Varsuuk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,077
    Also, always something to watch for is if you generate a normal compressed file like pak/ext but unpack it to check something or test a small change. Then FG just uses that unpacked one going forward.

    Definitely not something that got me like 4 times until I switch to generating unpacked while I am actively working on it…. Nope, not me… *whistles innocently*

  4. #994
    Varsuuk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,077
    Hmm - I wanted to see what a window would generate and hit the view code button and saw it. Then I went to check on controls, did it again and saw nothing... again... nothing. That's when I noticed that it was popping up off to the side:
    xmlpopupCapture.JPG
    No clue how I "disassociated" it from RW? Any ideas on how to get RW to open the generated xml "in-app" again?

  5. #995

  6. #996

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    266
    I have a combobox that lists the months in the Harnmaster ruleset. Each month carries certain skill bonuses based on the setting zodiac. So if you start with a Skill Base of 15 in swords but you were born in Angberelius, you get a bump to 16. (See image)

    Capture.PNG

    Can I script a combobox to modify certain skills based on the month chosen? How would I script that? I figure its an if/then function, but I dont know how to write it so it knows to look for a change in the combobox (and recognize each option in the collection list).
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #997
    Varsuuk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,077
    I don’t know the rules of this rpg.

    When you change a control value there is an alert you can handle. If you look in the confluence page API section you can get the names (I’m in the living room reading by my wife so won’t be up for bit - so can’t look at the name atm)

    Then given the return value vs the visible string, you can index a table to get the identifier of the attribute you will change and the modifier.

    Like
    Local mods = ModsByMonth[month]
    adjustAttribs(mods.attribute, mods.amount)

    AdjAttrib can query for the attribute and set it to current value + amount ;which could be a negative)

    Not sure if thawed what you are looking for?

  8. #998

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    266
    No I dont think I need a table. Currently Skill Base in a skill is determined by averaging three attributes. Climbing Skill Base = strength+agility+will/3. I have scripted this to occur for each skill.

    If your character was born in a certain month, they receive a +2 to Skill Base for Swords, a +1 to Skill Base for Climbing, a +1 to Skill Base for Basketweaving (for example).

    I just need to setup a script so that when the combobox selection changes, it will add those modifiers to each of the appropriate Skill Bases.

  9. #999
    Varsuuk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,077
    Well, that's kind of what I was trying to say that based on the selected value, you looked up what that month's modifiers are then apply them. If you want, of course you don't have to have it in a table or other db. You could just simply do in onValudChanged() something like:

    month = getSelectedValue()
    if month == "month_value_id" then
    ...
    elsif month == "month_value_id2" then
    ...
    etc
    end

    And you could in those ... do the math and modify those skills by the hardcoded values you put there.

    I thought your main question was HOW do you get alerted? I am attaching a simplistic print on a combo I already had (I added the onValueChanged using the RW gui pulldown (combo ;P) and clicking the +script button. Of course you can just TYPE it there anytime too.
    I added 3 method calls the last two are likely the most interesting - one to print getValue() and the other to get the "code/value" associated with it.

    Disclaimer, I haven't coded my combo yet, I recall once using one but I don't recall which method for what. I know one gives you the "text shown" and one the "value" associated, from my fast test it seems it is the 2 I listed though I couldf have sworn it was a different name. Don't have time to look further right now, heading out for dinner.
    combobox1.JPG

  10. #1000
    Varsuuk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,077
    Double post, please delete
    Last edited by Varsuuk; June 19th, 2023 at 05:18. Reason: Double post, please delete

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
FG Spreadshirt Swag

Log in

Log in