DICE PACKS BUNDLE
Page 55 of 109 First ... 545535455565765105 ... Last
  1. #541

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    266
    Is there a specific way you have to add multiple functions to a window? Harn uses an average of three attributes to establish the skill base for a skill. Below you can see the script I added for endurance, acrobatics, and climbing. But it will only display in one (climbing, the last one), which makes me think it will only do one function without some added text. These work individually, so I know the scripts are correct. I just dont how to get them to all run at once.

    function onValueChanged()
    local nodeWin = window.getDatabaseNode();
    local nstrength = DB.getValue(nodeWin,"strength_attribute",0);
    local nstamina = DB.getValue(nodeWin,"stamina_attribute",0);
    local nwill = DB.getValue(nodeWin,"will_attribute",0);
    local nendurance = math.ceil((nstrength+nstamina+nwill)/3);

    nodeWin.getChild("endurance").setValue(nendurance) ;

    end

    function onValueChanged()
    local nodeWin = window.getDatabaseNode();
    local nstrength = DB.getValue(nodeWin,"str_attribute",0);
    local nagility = DB.getValue(nodeWin,"agl_attribute",0);
    local nagilitytotal = math.ceil(nagility*2);
    local nacrobaticstotal = math.ceil(nstrength+nagilitytotal);
    local nacrobaticsaverage = math.ceil(nacrobaticstotal/3);

    nodeWin.getChild("acrobatics_average").setValue(na crobaticsaverage);

    end

    function onValueChanged()
    local nodeWin = window.getDatabaseNode();
    local nstrength = DB.getValue(nodeWin,"strength_attribute",0);
    local ndexterity = DB.getValue(nodeWin,"dexterity_attribute",0);
    local nagility = DB.getValue(nodeWin,"agility_attribute",0);
    local nclimbingaverage = math.ceil((nstrength+ndexterity+nagility)/3);

    nodeWin.getChild("climbing_average").setValue(ncli mbingaverage);

    end
    Last edited by greybeardgunner70; December 9th, 2021 at 02:20.

  2. #542

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    266
    Quote Originally Posted by damned View Post
    Hi greybeardgunner70

    Without trying to read thru all your scripts please explain the roll mechanics to me in Plain English.

    What dice do you roll?
    What do you click to roll?
    Then what do you do with the dice result?
    What are you comparing it to?
    What other factors come into play (modifiers, attributes etc)?
    What dice do you roll? d100 with a modifier acquired from another part of the sheet (encumbrance penalty, for example) or the modifier dice roll box.

    What do you click to roll? buttons and number fields depending on type of roll (button for attack rolls, number fields for skill rolls). Though I could make them all the same.

    Then what do you do with the dice result? It just needs to display in the chat, nothing else.

    What are you comparing it to? If dice roll result ends in a 5 or 0 it is a crit. Every other result is marginal. (Crit Success, Marginal Success, Marginal Failure, Crit Failure)

    What other factors come into play (modifiers, attributes etc)? For skills its just a single penalty (usually encumbrance), but need to be able to add modifier from dice modifier window in FGU. Attack rolls can have multiple modifiers, most off the weapon table on the CS (attack modifier for the weapon, 1 or 2 handed modifier, etc), but again, need to be able to add a modifier to the modifier dice roll box.

  3. #543
    damned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    26,649
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by greybeardgunner70 View Post
    Is there a specific way you have to add multiple functions to a window? Harn uses an average of three attributes to establish the skill base for a skill. Below you can see the script I added for endurance, acrobatics, and climbing. But it will only display in one (climbing, the last one), which makes me think it will only do one function without some added text. These work individually, so I know the scripts are correct. I just dont how to get them to all run at once.

    function onValueChanged()
    local nodeWin = window.getDatabaseNode();
    local nstrength = DB.getValue(nodeWin,"strength_attribute",0);
    local nstamina = DB.getValue(nodeWin,"stamina_attribute",0);
    local nwill = DB.getValue(nodeWin,"will_attribute",0);
    local nendurance = math.ceil((nstrength+nstamina+nwill)/3);

    nodeWin.getChild("endurance").setValue(nendurance) ;

    end

    function onValueChanged()
    local nodeWin = window.getDatabaseNode();
    local nstrength = DB.getValue(nodeWin,"str_attribute",0);
    local nagility = DB.getValue(nodeWin,"agl_attribute",0);
    local nagilitytotal = math.ceil(nagility*2);
    local nacrobaticstotal = math.ceil(nstrength+nagilitytotal);
    local nacrobaticsaverage = math.ceil(nacrobaticstotal/3);

    nodeWin.getChild("acrobatics_average").setValue(na crobaticsaverage);

    end

    function onValueChanged()
    local nodeWin = window.getDatabaseNode();
    local nstrength = DB.getValue(nodeWin,"strength_attribute",0);
    local ndexterity = DB.getValue(nodeWin,"dexterity_attribute",0);
    local nagility = DB.getValue(nodeWin,"agility_attribute",0);
    local nclimbingaverage = math.ceil((nstrength+ndexterity+nagility)/3);

    nodeWin.getChild("climbing_average").setValue(ncli mbingaverage);

    end
    Combine them into one function onValueChanged()
    Declare your variables one time only in the function and then do all the Math and setValues

  4. #544

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    266
    Ok thanks.

  5. #545
    damned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    26,649
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by greybeardgunner70 View Post
    What dice do you roll? d100 with a modifier acquired from another part of the sheet (encumbrance penalty, for example) or the modifier dice roll box.

    What do you click to roll? buttons and number fields depending on type of roll (button for attack rolls, number fields for skill rolls). Though I could make them all the same.

    Then what do you do with the dice result? It just needs to display in the chat, nothing else.

    What are you comparing it to? If dice roll result ends in a 5 or 0 it is a crit. Every other result is marginal. (Crit Success, Marginal Success, Marginal Failure, Crit Failure)

    What other factors come into play (modifiers, attributes etc)? For skills its just a single penalty (usually encumbrance), but need to be able to add modifier from dice modifier window in FGU. Attack rolls can have multiple modifiers, most off the weapon table on the CS (attack modifier for the weapon, 1 or 2 handed modifier, etc), but again, need to be able to add a modifier to the modifier dice roll box.
    Start with something like this:

    click on the field that will be rollable and enter the dice string in the bottom right (sorry not at my PC)
    enter something like 1d100+{encumbrace_penalty}
    tell it to use modifiers
    tell it to clear modifier stack
    publish and test rolls
    do they work to that point?
    rolling d100+penalty+modifiers?
    if so then we work on the next bit

  6. #546
    damned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    26,649
    Blog Entries
    1
    hi greybeardgunner70

    I made a video for you that will hopefully explain a few things for you and show you how you can break the tasks down into small bite sized chunks and work your way through it. It has examples of your current crop of questions.

    https://youtu.be/COl8-_mRRHs

    Also see the .pak file and a .zip of teh rulesetwizard project file
    Attached Files Attached Files

  7. #547

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    266
    Damned, great stuff, thank you! I was able to get the attribute calculations for Skill Base to work, so that's solved.
    The vid and attached files are immensely helpful as well. I am not ready to tackle the actions (Notes) tab, so I tried to edit your managerRolls.Attack and create a managerRolls.Skillcheck. Note I took out the bit about subtracting encumbrance penalty, because the character sheet does that before the roll is made (the target number is pre-determined when the rollable field is populated). Please see below my script attempt and a screen shot of the error I received.

    function Skillcheck(rSource, rTarget, rRoll)

    Debug.chat("rSource: ", rSource);
    Debug.chat("rTarget: ", rTarget);
    Debug.chat("rRoll: ", rRoll);

    Debug.chat("nSkilllevel: ", nSkilllevel);

    local nResult = rRoll.aDice[1].result;
    local sResult = '';

    if nResult > nskilllevel then
    Debug.chat("miss: ", nResult);
    if nResult % 5 == 0 then
    sResult = ' - Critical Failure ' .. nResult;
    else
    sResult = ' - Marginal Failure ' .. nResult;
    end
    else
    Debug.chat("hit: ", nResult);
    if nResult % 5 == 0 then
    sResult = ' - Critical Success ' .. nResult;
    else
    sResult = ' - Marginal Success ' .. nResult;
    end
    end

    Debug.chat("Result: ", sResult);

    local rMessage = ActionsManager.createActionMessage(rSource, rRoll);

    rMessage.text = rMessage.text .. sResult;
    Comm.deliverChatMessage(rMessage);

    return true
    end

    Screenshot 2021-12-09 110001.png
    Last edited by greybeardgunner70; December 9th, 2021 at 16:02.

  8. #548
    damned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    26,649
    Blog Entries
    1
    My example using the penalty was just an example and not necessarily your furnishings as in unfamiliar with it

    Please spell out your skill check in plain English in detail and also provide a list of skills and also what dB fields you already have eg
    Skill
    Skill_mod

  9. #549

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    266
    Do images not work? Do you need me to paste in the actual text from the numberfields? Are you wanting to re-create it? I can send my rwp file if that works.

    Three images: 1-3 are the three number fields that make up the Acrobatics skill. 1. skill base, 2. skill mastery level, 3. effective skill level (derived when physical and other penalties are applied to #1 x #2.)

    Image 4 is the skillcheck script I wrote based on your attack script. I think, based on the error message I received, I am missing a command that points the function to #3.

    Acrobatics001.PNG
    Acrobatics002.PNG
    Acrobatics003.PNG
    Acrobatics004.PNG
    Last edited by greybeardgunner70; December 9th, 2021 at 23:05.

  10. #550

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    266
    Is there a significant difference between these two lines? Is one more preferable? Seems I remember one of them won't cause you to get an error when its looking for a value (say an attribute) that hasn't been filled yet.

    DB.setValue(nodeWin, "jog_range", "number", nJogtotal);

    nodeWin.getChild("acrobatics_average").setValue(na crobaticsaverage);

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
FG Spreadshirt Swag

Log in

Log in