5E Character Create Playlist
Page 1 of 2 12 Last

DM Lag With Maps

Hello,

I am relatively new to FGC through Steam and am using it to attempt to run my D&D 5e campaign as I enjoy the way that combat is handled with FG over Roll20. After a significant amount of time setting things up for my four players, we decided that the best way to learn how to use the software is to just dive in and slowly get used to it.

I'm currently experiencing an issue with loaded maps. Essentially what happens is that at some point while I have a map shared with my players and they are all viewing and interacting with the map, I get inoperable amounts of lag for the map window and a little bit of lag for everything else within the software. The delay for moving the map window is about 20-30 seconds, but any other action such as trying to move tokens or scroll/zoom/close the map window just will not happen. The only way to resolve the issue is to forcefully close the game and have my players rejoin after putting the server back up. This lag also prevents me from closing the map window. I also can't roll or interact in the combat tracker once this issue starts. This only happens when I have a map actively shared with my PC's. It doesn't trigger if I am alone in the server or when I preload the map image with the players. It also doesn't trigger with the combat tracker open by itself. My players and I are currently running combat with a map open in Roll20 that my players use to track movement since the map isn't functional for me in Fantasy Grounds.

Aside from the above, I can still interact with almost anything else in the software once the map begins to experience lag. There is a minimal amount of lag once the issue starts, but I can still open and close any of the buttons on the right side of the screen, open up tables, source material, and NPC's. I can look at PC's, open up abilities, spells, type in chat, roll the virtual dice, etc...