5E Character Create Playlist

LFG, old-time player recently returned to the game

I played a fair amount as a kid (35 years ago) and I got back into the game a couple of months ago. I DM FTF for some family members and I joined a group online about a month back but it wasn’t quite the right fit.

Basically, I understand the concepts of D&D very well (the role-playing, the story development, the character interactions, etc.) but I’m very shaky on the rules and should basically be considered a new player when it comes to them.

I’m looking for a group that is noob-friendly with a DM who is maybe a little forgiving and gives a fair amount of leeway for new players to learn the game without having the whole party repeatedly killed :-)

I’m still learning what I like, but I think I enjoy the social part of the game, the interactions, certainly the story and the character development, more so than “dungeon crawling,” or probably even more so than the actual combat. Don’t get me wrong, I still enjoy combat and I want it to be there, of course, but I think I probably skew a little more towards the other side of the game.

I’m willing to play homebrew and I probably prefer a DM-created world to something like, say, Forgotten Realms. I am willing to play in any D&D environment, however, including the pre-made, existing worlds and adventures.

I should also add that I probably prefer a world that is a little LOTR or GoT-like if we are talking about things like demonry, the prevalence of magic, the gods and stuff that takes place on other planes. I guess I like a fantasy world that’s a little more grounded when it comes to these things. But like I said, I am willing to play in any D&D environment.

I also have no experience with FG. I downloaded it and I have been dabbling in it a little bit but I don’t know much about it. I would like to eventually have the ability to DM online games so I also view this as an opportunity to gain experience with FG.