Thread: Problems / Bugs with BRP?
-
May 13th, 2023, 15:18 #151
- Join Date
- Mar 2009
- Location
- Lidingö, Sweden, Europe
- Posts
- 314
Thanks for looking into this.
I did some digging in my backed-up editions of the ruleset. The current look and feel for table item first appeared in 2021-09-11. Table item are now drag-and-droppable to the inventory tab. But the current error message for armor and shields also first appear here. In the previous edition, just a few days earlier, 2021-09-08, the old look and feel still reigned. Weapon, armor and shield content are shown, but they can't be dragged to the inventory, nor is the list scrollable, and the link icons use a D&D style icon. So, there was a codebase change in September 2021 that introduced the current state.
Hope this helps.
-
May 13th, 2023, 15:55 #152
- Join Date
- Mar 2009
- Location
- Lidingö, Sweden, Europe
- Posts
- 314
Module BRP Game System X does not show table of armors or table of shields
There is a windowlist called 'content' but it's located in another windowclass "reference_armor_category". So, when in onInit in windowclass "reference_armor" the code makes are reference to 'content' it's out of scope, and that's why we get the error message.
Code in made bold by me.
Code:function onInit() local src = DB.getValue(getDatabaseNode(), "source", ""); local source = nil; local w,h; if super and super.onInit then super.onInit(); end if src and src~="" then source = DB.findNode(src); for _,node in ipairs(DB.getChildList(source)) do if DB.getValue(node, "equipmenttype", "") == "Armor" then local catname = DB.getValue(node, "catname"); local win = catlist[catname]; if not win then catcount = catcount + 1; win = content.createWindow(); catlist[catname] = win; win.name.setValue(catname); end win.content.createWindow(node); entcount = entcount + 1; end end content.applySort(); w = getSize(); h = catcount*29 + entcount*15 + 61; setSize(w,h); end end
Code:windowclass A function windowclass B item
-
May 14th, 2023, 01:10 #153
Supreme Deity
- Join Date
- Mar 2007
- Posts
- 19,610
I just pushed a fix to address the script error in reference_armor. Both content.createWindow and content.applySort were pointing at the wrong control; it should be list.createWindow and list.applySort. I've checked in a change that I think should fix, but I'm not familiar with where to pull up that list.
Can you run a new Check for Updates and verify whether that fixes the issue for reference_armor, or walk me through the steps to find that list with the included data?
Thanks,
JPGFG Wish List - https://fgapp.idea.informer.com/
-
May 14th, 2023, 02:09 #154
- Join Date
- Mar 2009
- Location
- Lidingö, Sweden, Europe
- Posts
- 314
The change did indeed fix, at least one part of the problem. The list of armors is now properly displayed.
Two issues remain:
a) The armor items are not drag-and-droppable, like weapons are.
b) The same fix needs to be applied to reference_shields as well, since it has the same problem.
Thanks for looking into the problem and providing a fix.
-
May 14th, 2023, 02:22 #155
- Join Date
- Mar 2009
- Location
- Lidingö, Sweden, Europe
- Posts
- 314
When I review the code, I see that you have in fact changed the code in reference_shields. But I still get an error message, as before, about 'content' being a nil value when clicking on the link to "Shields".
-
May 14th, 2023, 02:50 #156
Supreme Deity
- Join Date
- Mar 2007
- Posts
- 19,610
Ok, good catch on the other equipment types (I should have checked for similar issues in that file), as well as the items not being able to be dragged and dropped. I've added fixes for each of those items in a new build, if you want to run a new Check For Updates to take a look.
This is our oldest ruleset we still sell, and it doesn't have a dedicated developer any more (moved on long ago). So, we're still trying to maintain to keep it working with Core features, and fix any bugs reported. Thanks for your help figuring them out.
Regards,
JPGFG Wish List - https://fgapp.idea.informer.com/
-
May 14th, 2023, 11:43 #157
- Join Date
- Mar 2009
- Location
- Lidingö, Sweden, Europe
- Posts
- 314
All items in the tables are now shown as expected and they are all drag and droppable. Even items in my homemade modules that wasn't working before.
Many thanks for this update!
/Peter
-
May 29th, 2023, 11:20 #158
- Join Date
- Mar 2009
- Location
- Lidingö, Sweden, Europe
- Posts
- 314
Creature descriptions are not shown
As currently coded the npc sheet expect a creatures description to be stored in an xml element named "appears", see campaign/record_npc.xml lines 45 and 61. The creatures in the Game Master Guide module stores all their descriptions in the (unformatted) notes element so they are not affected by this. However, the creatures in the "Basic Creatures" module, which is not for sale anymore, use an element named "text", as is 3.5E and 5E. So, these creatures descriptions are not shown. I used the same layout in when I created a module containing creatures converted from the 5E SRD to BRP, so my creature descriptions doesn't show either. I propose that the code in campaign/record_npc.xml is changed so it uses the element name "text" instead of "appears", as in the code below. This change will not affect any creatures in the Game Master Guide, but it will make the descriptions in the "Basic Creature" module visible. And, I guess, using the element name "text" is more inline with what other rulesets use in the same situation. The other option would be to change the xml code of a module that is not on sale anymore.
In the windowclass "npc" (campaign/record_npc.xml)
Code:<script> function onInit() onStateChanged(); end function onLockChanged() onStateChanged(); end function onStateChanged() if header.subwindow then header.subwindow.update(); end if main.subwindow then main.subwindow.update(); end if combat.subwindow then combat.subwindow.update(); end if notes.subwindow then notes.subwindow.update(); end local bReadOnly = WindowManager.getReadOnlyState(getDatabaseNode()); text.setReadOnly(bReadOnly); end </script> <sheetdata> <sub_record_header name="header"> <class>npc_header</class> </sub_record_header> <frame_record_content_tabbed name="contentframe" /> <subwindow_record name="main"> <class>npc_main</class> </subwindow_record> <subwindow_record name="combat"> <class>npc_combat</class> </subwindow_record> <ft_record name="text"> <anchored to="contentframe" position="over" /> <invisible /> </ft_record> <subwindow_record name="notes"> <class>npc_notes</class> </subwindow_record> <scrollbar_record> <target>main</target> </scrollbar_record> <scrollbar_record> <target>combat</target> </scrollbar_record> <scrollbar_record> <target>appears</target> </scrollbar_record> <scrollbar_record> <target>notes</target> </scrollbar_record> <tabs_recordsheet name="tabs"> <tab> <icon>tab_main</icon> <subwindow>main</subwindow> </tab> <tab> <icon>tab_combat</icon> <subwindow>combat</subwindow> </tab> <tab> <icon>tab_appears</icon> <subwindow>text</subwindow> </tab> <tab> <icon>tab_notes</icon> <subwindow>notes</subwindow> </tab> </tabs_recordsheet> <resize_recordsheet /> <close_recordsheet /> </sheetdata> </windowclass>
Last edited by peterb; May 29th, 2023 at 11:28.
-
May 30th, 2023, 17:39 #159
Supreme Deity
- Join Date
- Mar 2007
- Posts
- 19,610
Seems reasonable, though there is a gotcha. BRP is the oldest ruleset still being offered in the store, which is why it does everything a little different.
The gotcha is that any data placed in those fields within an existing campaign or custom module will not be available any longer. Since it's a low use ruleset, I'll probably just offer to do the data migration if anyone encounters that.
The ruleset is currently locked down pending the new release, so the changes are currently in the beta Test channel and will be released in June.
Regards,
JPGFG Wish List - https://fgapp.idea.informer.com/
-
May 31st, 2023, 04:21 #160
- Join Date
- Mar 2009
- Location
- Lidingö, Sweden, Europe
- Posts
- 314
OK. Thanks!
Thread Information
Users Browsing this Thread
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)
Bookmarks