DICE PACKS BUNDLE
Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Buy Adventure Deck?

Hi guys,

I'm new to SW.

Just wondering, is the Adventure Deck necessary? Do I need to buy it and does what it adds to the game make it worthwhile?

Thanks in advance!

I was contrary to the use of the adventure deck when I started playing SW (also of random initiative based on cards, I must admit). Now, I couldn’t live without both. I absolute love the sense of unexpectancy the adventure deck offer, especially if you don’t peek at your player's cards. And, moreover, the second thing my players ask for when we start are their pretty little cards, they need them! (the first thing are bennis, of course). I also love the action cards for initiative, it gives an unpredictable touch to combat, they can’t make plans in advance considering they don’t know who acts first.

So, currently, for my group, adventure deck is a must-have. You can create on your own (i have a tutorial in my YouTube Channel in Spanish) or use the official deck, which is wonderfully automated.

It's a fun addition to the core rules but it's essential... if I were to compare it to another medium I would say it's like DLC for a video game that adds optional abilities to your character but no additional plot, you can play without it just fine but playing with it just gives you more options on how to approach a situation.

Thanks a lot guys! Sounds cool. Can you take Powers cards out of the adventure deck though? For the games where magic doesn’t exist.

Quote Originally Posted by qdwag View Post
    Thanks a lot guys! Sounds cool. Can you take Powers cards out of the adventure deck though? For the games where magic doesn’t exist.
    You can customize your deck, I have a program that I posted in the forum, removing cards that you dont want to use, or replace them if a player gets one.