5E Character Create Playlist
Page 1 of 6 123 ... Last

All Encompassing Image & Module Memory Reference Guide

I've been DMing with FG for a couple of years now and it's going great. I want to add some additional campaign & background material, but I don't want to bog down the system. I've seen plenty of discussion on what the ideal individual map sizes are as well as token sizes, but I haven't been able to find a definitive reference to what uploads impact the game. For instance: Maps uploaded, but not shared? Tokens in the Host but not used, etc. I'm hoping to create a single reference source for that information. Side note: I'm hoping for factual information based on the architecture of the software, not necessarily anecdotal references. While interesting, personal experiences are very subjective and based too much on system/network specs.

Specifically, what impact does the following have on load times and system resources, For the DM and separately for the Players (since I'm pretty sure it's a different impact).

1. Maps/Images in the images folder that are not shared with players. Does this slow the system down? Are they ignored until they are shared? Point of reference: most of my campaigns have a bunch (>12) maps, all around 3500px on a side. (I like big maps and I can not lie. You other DMs can't deny...) I've never had any performance issues, but I also only share one or two at a time. Theoretically, can I have dozens as long as they aren't shared with the players or opened during the session?

2. Tokens in the Host folder that are not brought into play: I.e. not shown on a map or attached to an NPC/Character. Do they count towards memory use? Or is it only once they are brought into play?

3. Maps/Images in campaigns other than the active one being used. I have 3 or 4 campaigns created, do the maps in those count? Or only what is in an active (live) session.