STAR TREK 2d20

Usage of Modifiers in CoC 7e ruleset

I am a bit confused how to use modifiers in the game (I understand the +1/2 bonus and penalty and HRD/EXT buttons). I am still learning the rules and don't know if there are such situations where the GM gives +/- something to a check, but as this is D100 system, adding +5 as modifier should increase the Target Number or the check, not add to the result of a roll.

For example if I have skill of 50% and I add modifier +5, the TN stays 50 while the roll result is incremented with 5. Am I using this wrong? I can always hack by using negative modifier, but this will incorrectly result in level of success or failure that is probably not right.
    The past is a rudder to guide us, not an anchor to hold us back.

Modifiers (i.e ad-hoc modifier stack entries or campaign "modifier" entries) are primarily for modifying the dice rolls - pure and simple. Not all dice rolls in CoC will have a target number - damage, rolling on tables, etc.. It is much better to keep the modifier functionality the same throughout all rolls - keep it simple for everyone.

Now, to be specific for CoC 7e - there aren't numerical modifiers to skill/attack checks. "Modifiers", as the RPG system uses them, are: changing difficultly or adding/removing bonus/penalty dice - numerical modifiers, if they exist at all, are very rare.

So - based off the above - the modifiers as is work well in the CoC 7e ruleset.
    Private Messages: My inbox is forever filling up with PMs. Please don't send me PMs unless they are actually private/personal messages. General FG questions should be asked in the forums - don't be afraid, the FG community don't bite and you're giving everyone the chance to respond and learn!