5E Product Walkthrough Playlist
Page 1 of 2 12 Last

AoO rule clarification

I am new to the 5E ruleset and just getting back into TT RPG after a long absence (AD&D) and have been learning as I go with each session. In the last session played there was a situation where Lightning Lure (Sorcerer cantrip) was used against a creature that was in melee with one if not two other party members. On a successful cast of Lightning Lure it allows for the the lightning to strike a target 15' away and draw that target 10' closer to the caster and then inflict lightning damage. My question is - would that creature also be subject to AoO from party members that were already engaged in melee with it? There was some discussion at the table around this encounter, however, the AoO question did not arise at that time. Thanks for any input.

LIGHTNING LURE (SCAG)
    Evocation cantrip
    Casting Time: 1 action
    Range: 15 feet
    Components: V
    Duration: Instantaneous
    You create a lash of lightning energy that strikes at one
    creature of your choice that you can see within range.
    The target must succeed on a Strength saving throw
    or be pulled up to 10 feet in a straight line toward you
    and then take 1d8 lightning damage if it is within 5
    feet of you.
    This spell's damage increases by 1d8 when you reach
    5th level (2d8), 11th level (3d8), and 17th level (4d8).

Short answer is yes if the target moved out of the creatures reach.
    If there is something that you would like to see in Fantasy Grounds that isn't currently part of the software or if there is something you think would improve a ruleset then add your idea here https://www.fantasygrounds.com/featu...rerequests.php

Forced movement of a target does not trigger attacks of opportunity by RAW.

Quote Originally Posted by 5E SRD