Page 1 of 3 123 Last
  1. #1

    Need help opening up port 1802 on computer

    Good Day following the guide at https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forum...faq=networking

    I have confirmed that port 1802 is not open from my computer.

    Going to my router/switch i confirmed that I had no port restrictions the failure to conect to port 1802 did not change with any level of router fire wall

    On my computer I created a specific rull in my firewall to allow any connection using port 1802 however this has not change the result

    What other step or checks can I preform to try to open this port?

  2. #2
    damned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    19,534
    Blog Entries
    1
    Welcome mcallisr.
    Please describe your network.
    Wired/Wireless?
    ADSl, Cable, Fibre, Satellite, Other?
    Do you have a Modem and a Router?
    Have you enabled UPnP?
    Have you created any Port Forwarding Rules on your router? If so please supply what settings you put in.

    MoreCore - Generic Ruleset
    --- Projects ---
    Extensions | Tutorials | MoreCore | MoreCore Themes | Call of Cthulhu | Maelstrom | FG Con

  3. #3
    The network is wire into a router/switch motorola surfboard. Cable internet connection. No port forwarding rules where on the router however.
    UPnp was not enabled.

    Changing that seems to have fixed it for testing try to open my own server and connect with the fantasy ground website in the application.

    However i am still getting errors on the open port check for 1802.
    Last edited by mcallisr; January 21st, 2017 at 19:18.

  4. #4
    damned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    19,534
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by mcallisr View Post
    The network is wire into a router/switch motorola surfboard. Cable internet connection. No port forwarding rules where on the router however.
    UPnp was not enabled.

    Changing that seems to have fixed it for testing try to open my own server and connect with the fantasy ground website in the application.

    However i am still getting errors on the open port check for 1802.
    Your next step is to create a Port Forward rule on the Surfboard.
    External Port: TCP 1802
    Internal Port: TCP 1802
    Map it to your Computer name or IP Address

    If you cant solve send me your email address via PM.

  5. #5
    Trenloe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Newcastle, UK (for a bit)
    Posts
    24,609
    Quote Originally Posted by mcallisr View Post
    However i am still getting errors on the open port check for 1802.
    What are you using for the open port check? If you're using something like canyouseeme.org then this will only work if FG is fully up and running and waiting for players to connect as that is the only time FG is listening on port 1802 (other than the very brief time period after the "Run Test" button in FG is pressed).
    FG Con 16 Fantasy Grounds Online RPG Convention - Friday April 24th to Sunday April 26th, 2020
    Register at www.fg-con.com for all the latest info.

    Private Messages: My inbox is forever filling up with PMs. Please don't send me PMs unless they are actually private/personal messages. General FG questions should be asked in the forums - don't be afraid, the FG community don't bite and you're giving everyone the chance to respond and learn!

  6. #6
    ddavison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    4,745
    Blog Entries
    16
    Depending on the model #, you can go here and get step-by-step screenshots of how to add the port forward rule. For the internal IP, use the one shown on the Fantasy Grounds screen as your Internal IP address.

    https://portforward.com/motorola/

  7. #7
    [Deleted because posted in wrong thread]
    Last edited by TGIDragonfly; February 6th, 2017 at 01:37.

  8. #8
    damned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    19,534
    Blog Entries
    1
    If you cant get it working send me your email via PM and Ill organise to do it with you.

    Your wife will also need to go into Library -> Modules and activate/open those books you have shared with her.

    Zacchaeus will know the answer to the last one but I think they are actually missing...

    MoreCore - Generic Ruleset
    --- Projects ---
    Extensions | Tutorials | MoreCore | MoreCore Themes | Call of Cthulhu | Maelstrom | FG Con

  9. #9
    I never had to do port forwarding. I just allowed FG full admin access to bypass security/firewalls. Worked great ever since. Cable modem/router combo running wifi.

  10. #10
    You probably have a UPnP router and it automatically handles it for you.
    Paul Grosse
    PCGen BoD
    PR Silverback

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Log in

Log in