-
October 8th, 2016, 18:45 #21
- Join Date
- Aug 2016
- Location
- Arkansas
- Posts
- 63
Ok, so following the tutorial to learn how to meddle with extensions. I am following the tutorial and here is my code.
Code:<?xml version="1.0" encoding="iso-8859-1"?> <root> <icon file="graphics/TutorialWindow.png" name="TutorialWindow" /> <windowclass name="TutorialWindow"> <frame>campaignlistwithtabs</frame> <sizelimits> <dynamic /> </sizelimits> <sheetdata> <banner_campaign> <icon>TutorialWindow</icon> </banner_campaign> <close_campaignlist /> <resize_campaignlistwithtabs /> </sheetdata> </windowclass> </root>
Based on what i have been reading this should allow for resizing, but it does not appear to be working. I see the resize icon at the bottom right, but its not allowing me to resize.
Ok, I figured it out. I didn't save the extension.xml file after changing the version to 3.0 in the root tag. It's working now.Last edited by Tuendal; October 8th, 2016 at 19:08.
-
October 8th, 2016, 19:10 #22
- Join Date
- Aug 2016
- Location
- Arkansas
- Posts
- 63
Another question i have, and this is because i have very little background with XML or LUA, but in the example we are using an Image for the title of the window, is it possible to just use a Text box and not an image? I'm more or less wanting to streamline some of the boxes and the images don't scale well and want more of a minimal feel for some of the windows.
-
October 9th, 2016, 01:21 #23
Try something like this for sizing:
set an initial size
Code:<placement> <size width="515" height="610" /> </placement>
Code:<sizelimits> <minimum width="515" height="610" /> <maximum width="515" /> <dynamic /> </sizelimits>
-
October 9th, 2016, 14:41 #24
- Join Date
- Apr 2015
- Posts
- 82
Glad you figured it out. I didn't see anything obvious, and I wouldn't have guessed what the problem was, based on your solution! I hope you found the tutorial helpful.
-
October 9th, 2016, 14:43 #25
- Join Date
- Apr 2015
- Posts
- 82
As far as I can tell, the headers must be images. I haven't found any examples anywhere else in FG that works differently, and there doesn't seem to be anything in the docs. At one point, I was going to see if I could find a way to generate the image in Lua if it didn't exist, but it really is just too much work for too little benefit. Maybe when the Unity version comes out, they will be more dynamic with the labels.
-
October 26th, 2016, 15:32 #26
If I wanted to look at an existing Extension. Using Notepad ++ how woudl I do it?
Brice AKA BoringMadman
-
October 26th, 2016, 15:47 #27
Change the .ext file extension to .zip and unzip.
Some info on what you'll find inside can be found here: https://www.fantasygrounds.com/modguide/extensions.xcp And, of course, in the guides found in post #1 of this thread.Private Messages: My inbox is forever filling up with PMs. Please don't send me PMs unless they are actually private/personal messages. General FG questions should be asked in the forums - don't be afraid, the FG community don't bite and you're giving everyone the chance to respond and learn!
-
October 26th, 2016, 16:10 #28
- Join Date
- Apr 2015
- Posts
- 82
-
October 26th, 2016, 17:06 #29
It's cause he is an AI and present all the time online.
Paul Grosse
PCGen BoD
PR Silverback
Autobackup Batch file, Always ALWAYS backup your data. Remember to follow the 3-2-1 rule!
-
November 29th, 2016, 10:37 #30
- Join Date
- Jul 2011
- Posts
- 39
First, thanks to anyone who wants to field this. I haven't coded in ABOUT 15 years, but thought I'd try my hand again. Frankly, I'm pretty confused what I'm missing.
This is a GREAT tutorial, and on the read through, I thought I'd go back and try to do the interactive play-by-play. I can NOT get extension.xml to even appear as an option. Saved as ...\AppData\Roaming\Fantasy Grounds\extensions\extension.xml. File is simply a straight copy paste from page 5 of tutorial I. Tinkered with the root release and root version. Nothing. FG version 3.2.1. I've been dinking away for about 90 minutes and can't even get the option to load the XML as an extension.
Seriously, I'm sure I'm missing something quite obvious, but would welcome any help. Thank you again. (For completion sake in checking typos, copied code follows).
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="iso-8859-1"?>
<!-- This is our MVP for the Extension Tutorial -->
<root release="3.0" version="3">
<properties>
<name>Extension Tutorial - Jeffery W. Redding</name>
<version>0.0.1</version>
<author>Jeffery W. Redding</author>
<description>
A really simple extension file for
creating a really simple extension
</description>
</properties>
<base>
<includefile source="xml/TutorialWindow.xml" />
</base>
</root>
Thread Information
Users Browsing this Thread
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)
Bookmarks