5E Product Walkthrough Playlist

Avoiding extension collisions...

So I'm working on my first mod and I pretty well have it functioning like I want it to. However, because it overrides what I believe are some pretty major pieces of the ruleset, I'm worried about it being incompatible with other extensions. I'm pretty new to FantasyGrounds so I'm not sure how this should best be handled.

For instance, my mod modifies the scripts/data_common.lua. I imagine that this is a fairly common piece of lua to overwrite so my concern is how I keep my modification from conflicting with others.

Is there are a clean way to do this? A way were I insert only the change code in my new data_common.lua instead of completely replacing it?

(for what it's worth, I've added a 7th attribute to 3.5E and updated all the character sheets and scripts to go with it)

See this post for some examples of how to add to the LUA tables in data_common.lua without changing the base file: https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forum...l=1#post168814
    Private Messages: My inbox is forever filling up with PMs. Please don't send me PMs unless they are actually private/personal messages. General FG questions should be asked in the forums - don't be afraid, the FG community don't bite and you're giving everyone the chance to respond and learn!

I saw that thread, and it was helpful but you appeared to be adding completely new functionality. I'm talking about modifying the way existing functions work, such as, from data_common.lua:
    Code:
    -- Abilities (database names)
    abilities = {
    	"strength",
    	"dexterity",
    	"constitution",
    	"intelligence",
    	"wisdom",
    -- Mod by QC for Comeliness Attribute Support
    -- added ,
    	"charisma",
    -- added entire line
    	"comeliness"
    -- End QC Mod
    };
    If I put that in a stand-alone lua, would it be available to campaign/record_char_main.xml and override the existing data_common.lua function of the same name?