DICE PACKS BUNDLE
Page 1 of 3 123 Last

What's the simplest rule system out there?

I got my friends to play Fantasy Grounds, and I've put a lot of work into a generic campaign. Unfortunately I worry how to get it to work in the engine. This is my first time actually using FG so I'm hoping it's not as complicated as all that. All the cool bells and whistles also mean that you don't get the functionality of plain notebook paper.

We'd usually play 2 edition or 3.5, but for this particular game I was really hoping to use my own very dumbed down system. If I had to pick another system, old school Basic D&D would probably be the closest match. While we could try this in 3.5 or 4, I don't think FG would let them design their own classes that way, right? If we just stick with the traditional classes, I worry that the engine won't let me do the things I need to, like add things to their character sheets at certain points: spell like abilities, attacks per round, ect. An empty sheet would be fine, but I heard FG had a lot of auto-updating number stuff built into the code, if so it would cause monstrous problems. I'd also like to add & remove things from the weapons list, ect. I just don't want a by the book campaign.

1. Is there a system in place to make your own character sheet without knowing how to code? Has anyone made a simple template with the fields already in, for example? I don't care about any sort of auto updating, just the blank spots that they can "pencil in" their own info as it updates is fine. Even a blank look with editable text fields for everyone would work in a pinch.

2. If a layman can't create their own system, do any allow you to create your own classes? (Inside FG, of course.)

2. If that's not an option either, what's the simplest game system for FG that you can get? Savage Worlds?

Thanks for the help, it's surprisingly hard to find this info online,

~Megan