DICE PACKS BUNDLE
Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Thread: Maps as Tokens

Maps as Tokens

I'm still pretty new to the whole setup, so forgive me if it's not possible.

Has anyone tried setting up "Dungeon Tiles" as Tokens for on the fly maps? I'd guess that it's possible to lay down the tiles and then place other Tokens above it. Depends on the layering.

For example, you can have

Level 1: Players
    Level 2: Tiles
    Level 3: "Hidden" (ex, Traps, Secret Doors, etc)

So, as they're going along, you can "pull off" level two to reveal hidden things.

Also, a Token set of different things like tables, chairs, chests, rock walls, and doors would be pretty cool. It would put that rotate function to good use!

Thoughts?

The better way to do it would be to use the tiles at the base layer, and then charter tokens and "hidden entities" on the same layer. Fantasy Grounds has a nifty option to make select 'tokens' invisible to players.

It is a nightmare to have tokens on top of tokens. It is very cumbersome to cover substantial parts of your image with tiles. Alignment takes time, juggling takes time and its messy enough to hamper game enjoyment.

It is far easier to have a Graphics\Tile Program, running at the same time if necessary, spit out a jpg into a maps directory and then reshare the updated map.

S
    J.R.R. Tolkien wrote, "I wish life was not so short. Languages take such a time, and so do all the things one wants to know about."

You could also set the grid size correctly for the tiles, and then they will snap in place :-) and you dont have to line them up anymore :-)

Quote Originally Posted by unerwünscht
    The better way to do it would be to use the tiles at the base layer, and then charter tokens and "hidden entities" on the same layer. Fantasy Grounds has a nifty option to make select 'tokens' invisible to players.
    When you say "base layer", do you mean a JPG/PNG as the background and then put the items on that?

Quote Originally Posted by Sigurd