STAR TREK 2d20
View RSS Feed

Rob2e's "Fantasy Grounds - The Experience!"

How Smiteworks and Fantasy Grounds CHANGED (SAVED?) MY LIFE!

Rate this Entry
Hey, everyone.

Those that know me already have this information, but some may not know...

Three years ago in August 2014, I had a liver transplant. While I was under the knife for 11 hours, my mother passed away. DURING SURGERY! Amazing. Tragic.

I had my surgery in Seattle, I was in the hospital 58 days. I came back to Spokane on Thanksgiving 2014 and proceeded to start my recovery through the holidays. I spent the first 3/4 of 2015 "looking into what I should do with my life". Mostly in my mind. I was a professional stand-up comedian and actor for 15 years. That was over now. Los Angeles was out of my system and I was very happy with the idea of living in my home town of Spokane. But I needed something TO DO!

Along comes Fantasy Grounds, and I became interested immediately! I had played D&D since 1981 and had never heard of Fantasy Grounds. I was ALL IN. As a matter of fact, I purchased the Ultimate License, and all the 5E material available from WotC at the time. This was September 2015. I was in for a few hundred dollars. The very next day, everything in the store went on sale. Had I waited a few hours, I could have saved myself a lot of money. I was heartbroken at my timing (being a comedian and all).

I emailed Doug Davison and explained I had just made a major purchase the day before the sale. Doug refunded my entire purchase and allowed me to rebuy everything at the sale price. Wow! I was hooked for life.

Not only was this a great software application for a Virtual Tabletop, but the people running Smiteworks (and the community for it) was great. I became involved.

I started to enter games, getting to know people and turned all of that into what it is today:

• I stream 6 days a week on Twitch exclusively Fantasy Grounds D&D 5E