DICE PACKS BUNDLE
View RSS Feed

Rob2e's "Fantasy Grounds - The Experience!"

Rob's Fantasy Grounds Experiences...

Rate this Entry
Hi Gang.

I started playing D&D in 1981. I was 15 years old. In my first campaign, my friends and I knew nothing, so we had a guest DM (a 12 year old) who was willing to run a game for us. I made a Magic User (with 4 HP) and as we started our first game, we were wandering down a village street when the DM handed me a hand written note. It read, "You have been hit with a crossbow bolt. You are dead. Please do not react to any of the other players." I of course immediately stood up and yelled, "This game sucks!"

As I was storming out of the room, my friends all pleaded with me to stay. They begged the DM to assure me that it was a joke. He assured me it was not. We agreed to start over, and he agreed to not kill anybody in the first 30 seconds. The game became fun. I haven't looked back (until now).

When I was in the Army, and in Korea, my cell mates, sorry, roommates and I played much D&D. We especially dabbled in Dragonlance and Ravenloft. Who's so excited about the release of Curse of Strahd (on Fantasy Grounds) tomorrow? This guy!!

After the Army, it was hard to find groups/players. I took a nearly 20 year break. I became sick with liver disease in 2008 and had to quit my job as a professional stand-up comedian in Los Angeles and move back to my home town of Spokane, WA. Starting in 2009 I found 4E and groups/players in Spokane.

I had a successful liver transplant in August of 2014, and shortly after, during my recovery, I discovered 5E. I dove right in. Played a lot. When 5th edition came out, I freaked out. So much better than 4E and more like 1st edition AD&D which is what grabbed my heart and imagination. I was hooked. In September 2015, I discovered Fantasy Grounds. A WHOLE NEW WORLD!